Who's gonna fill the #10 seat in '18?

All things Danica
blue oval_4
Huge Race Fan
Huge Race Fan

Who's gonna fill the #10 seat in '18?

Post by blue oval_4 »

So does Amirole bring Smithfield to the #10 car?
man cannot live by bread alone...He must have beer and Beer Never Broke My ❤️
Kopterdoctor
Big Race Fan
Big Race Fan

Re: Who's gonna fill the #10 seat in '18?

Post by Kopterdoctor »

Maybe they move up Cole Custer :s_dunno
Damn it Jim, I'm only a Doctor
jdpirate
Big Race Fan
Big Race Fan

Post by jdpirate »

Most likely the #10 will have the Smithfield sponsorship and the "unnamed driver" who id rumored to be Aric Almirola
PattyKay
Big Race Fan
Big Race Fan

Post by PattyKay »

According to all I've read, Smithfield will definitely decorate the #10 from SHR. Rumor mill sees Aric Almirola as the likely candidate, and he well might have developed a good working relationship with someone at Smithfield over their tenure together.
Having said that, when I look at the situation, I see a different outcome is very possible. Bubba Wallace filled in for Almirola while he was out with a serious back injury. If I'm a sponsor, willing to sink millions into funding a driver in NASCAR, would I choose a 33-year old with a bad back or a 24-year old who has shown to be the better driver of the two and fits NASCAR's "diversity" quest as well? Smithfield might think differently, but for me, the choice is simple.
The key thing to realize in all of that is that the choice is not up to SHR. It is entirely up to Smithfield, as is the case with every sponsor in the sport today. Where the car owners used to have all the say, things have been turned completely upside down and the sponsors now call all the shots.
I will truly miss Danica. She might not have been the best driver in the world, but she for darn sure was the best female driver the sport has ever seen... EVER! :s_bye :s_roses
intomidator
Race Fan
Race Fan

Post by intomidator »